Today is a bad day

It’s Friday; quiz number two just finished for half of our students. My morning 109 monsters were extra bland today because of it. I handed out the tests and arranged the students according to their emza (signature) sheet. Perhaps that was my downfall. I have two lefties in my class; one, Ege, a sweet, quite kid got a normal desks and sat next to students that wouldn’t bother/cheat from him or vice versa. Ahmet, also a quite guy, got shafted and ended up with a righty desk. I’m sorry. He also was placed next Baris, an extremely low level student who should be in a lower level. He also got shafted in this sense, but he was lucky to be placed next to Ahmet. Ahmet’s no the highest level student, but he knows some things. 

Cheating is part of Turkish culture. This, I know. But they are adults and don’t need me to tell them to not cheat; so I thought. Here’s what happened. Both boys were seated at the back of the classroom and me, at my teachers desk, at the front of the class. I was just scanning the class for cheaters and figured I had better pop up and look around the room. I noticed Ahmet having some “meltdown” or something in the back of the class and Baris looking off his paper. I stood there for a second and they didn’t notice. As I moved back to  my seat I see Baris finally look up at me. Now I don’t know if Ahmet was intentionally allowing it or not but I was pissed and saddened for both of them and myself as well because I knew exactly what was coming next. As I return to my seat. I’m frowning at the pair of them because Ahmet is acting quite out of character and the closest to me, Samet and Seray Elif (she’s an angel), turn to see what I’m looking at. Those two knuckleheads in the back never notice. I witness Ahmet and Baris’ “game” three to four more times before I take both of their quizzes. They didn’t protest too much; perhaps they were in shock. They just sat there. Then I went back to my seat. Marked incomplete on the roster and tried to think of my next move. I called both of them out into the hallway and already started doubting my decision for that and taking their quizzes. I told them I was disappointed and Ahmet said he was..something, I don’t even remember but he did claim he didn’t know.… Now if I can see him from the front of the classroom, you, seated next to him, must be able to see him. Baris, on the other hand, was just apologizing for his actions and pleading that I “not do this” and allow them to finish. I told him I was not going to and I was unhappy because now Ahmet can’t finish his quiz because he was looking off of it. Why didn’t I just warn them first? Baris wouldn’t understand and I shouldn’t have to. Second of all, I wouldn’t be able to decipher his correct answers from Ahmets right or wrong ones. And btw, some of Ahmets answers were wrong and Baris’ correct. Why do student’s do this!? Goodness. Well I kicked them out and now I feel like shit. 😥

4 thoughts on “Today is a bad day

    • I thought about that too actually, but in fact, I can’t even be bothered with those two anymore. They never do anything in class. If it were a fluke thing, then I’d be more inclined to go easy on them.

  1. i wouldn’t say that cheating is part of turkish culture. all students cheat when they believe they can get away with it (i am american teaching at a midwestern university and there is a reason turnitin.com and others like it are lucrative in the US). the problem in turkey is that there are no strong institutional rules and procedures to punish academic misconduct as in the US.

    • You’re right actually. But I still see it as a culture of cheating. I mean, I’m obviously a foreigner here and putting my foreign view on things, but I feel like since they don’t have the procedures, on any level in life, to punish people for cheating (or speeding, or parking on the sidewalk/middle of street, etc), it has created this culture of cheating. Actually, maybe half-assing is a better term for this. Oh how I miss the days of turnitin.com. :p

Leave a Reply

