Professor Misses What’s Her Face

I just internalized that I will be teaching at a university and I have no idea what a “professor” really means. Like, I know it’s someone that teaches at a university/college, but is that what makes you a professor? I have no idea what my students should call me. I remember having several professors as an undergrad not want to be called Dr/Mrs/Mr/Ms or even professor; they preferred just their first name. I’m not sure what it’s like in Turkey. I’m positive that I’ll be the same age as the majority of my students, so Ms. is out of the question for me; plus it makes me feel….weird. On the job posting it says ‘instructor’, but is that a professor? I’ve read it can be. I’ve also read that professor is reserved for those with tenure (assistant/associate); i’ve also heard the opposite. Hmmm…this is vexing. I don’t want to be too presumptuous by calling myself this title that I have not fully earned, but what “what’s my name again?” I must admit, Professor Rhone has a nice ring to it. 🙂

Leave a comment