TESOL Part 2

Last time I talked about my TESOL Certificate with SIT and my experiences with it; this time I wanted to post about how I found my job and some other programs worth having a look at.

As y’all know, I’m always looking towards my next thing. I’m a planner. If I don’t have a plan I feel like a chicken running around with its head cut off! So to prevent this spectacle, I plan.

To be honest, I only applied abroad as a backup. I was confident I would be hired domestically and Penny and I would could move somewhere and start our lives together. Yeah, didn’t happen. I got no responses to any of the jobs I applied for. I called and left messages that were never returned. For shame companies. For shame. I did, however, receive non-stop e-mails and a few calls from schools abroad that shocked me. Why? You’re guess is as good as mine; couldn’t at all tell you. I had calls from China, Korea, Japan, Brazil, Argentina, and of course Turkey. I found these companies through a simple google search (for Brazil I searched for language schools in Portuguese on Brazilian Google) for ESL jobs. I came up with Dave’s ESL Cafe  (I highly recommend this one), ESL Job Feed, and ESL Employment. The last two are okay, in my opinion, I found my current job on one of them. I also found a scam with some people impersonating the Japanese government and a school in Fukushima. BEWARE! If it seems to good to be true, It most likely is. If you feel it is, contact the school, the person who you’ve been corresponding with, and the local embassy of the country that is being impersonated. That’s what I did. I had several red flags that I think kept me my identity or who knows what these scumbags were attempting to do. After this ordeal I was quite weary, even borderline paranoid about accepting this offer in Turkey.

If you want to look for something besides teaching assistants or teaching beyond children, you can do as I did. Do you need a teaching certificate? Depends on the school, if you want it, and what your goals are. If you’re trying to go to Europe or teach at a university, you most certainly will need it and even experience because you’re competing with English speaking Europeans for the job. You must already be in Europe with proper working papers to really be considered. Asia is the easiest to get into and get some experience with. Korea, China, Vietnam, and even Indonesia to some extent are easy to get into. The big money is in Saudi Arabia where you could be paid $3,000-4,000 a month! PLUS they pay for flights, housing, and a basically anything you would need. BUT you need a masters degree and experience to get there. Well, depends on the company I think. Japan and Taiwan are the same. You won’t be paid that much in these two countries but you’ll be paid well.

Have a look at this old post about some other opportunities that could jump start you on your TESOL path. 🙂

Let me know if you have any suggestions to add to the list, some other places that have a decent work culture and salary, or other places to find jobs at. Also, has anyone done the CELTA? Let me know! I’m eager to hear of this experience.

Leave a Reply

